The ChenangoThe Chenango County Historical Society (CCHS) has discontinued regular business hours and all museum programming at this time. The organization is following recommendations from local government agencies, the CDC, and health authorities with the intention of eliminating risk of exposure to volunteers, members and visitors. Telephone calls and e-mails will be answered on a regular basis.
When operations resume, CCHS will continue celebrating the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment – which granted women the right to vote – with commemorative programming throughout the remainder of this year.
The primary organization dedicated to actively and comprehensively preserving the history of Chenango County, CCHS celebrates local culture – unique traditions, noteworthy residents, and unusual stories. Museum visitors are immersed in the center of Chenango County’s past through exhibits exploring the rich history of the local region.
First established in 1939, CCHS received an absolute charter in 1956. Ward School No. 2 was acquired in 1958 with renovations beginning immediately. Since reopening as a museum in 1962, Ward School No. 2 has been the home of the CCHS for more than five decades. The campus has expanded greatly since then, with the acquisition of the one-room Ross Schoolhouse (Preston), Loomis Barn (Tyner), a maple sugar house, and the Chenango Canal building, home to packet boat model the “Lillie.”