NORWICH, N.Y. – The Chenango County Historical Society (CCHS) recently honored the individuals and organizations who supported school field trips during the 2019-2020 academic year.
Thanks to a grant from the Chenango County Youth Philanthropy Council, second graders from all Chenango County public school districts had the opportunity to be immersed in programs designed to enhance school curricula with hands-on activities. Interactive sessions featured pre-history, Native American culture, pioneer living and westward expansion, Victorian influences, the discovery of electricity and its impact, a lesson in the Ross Schoolhouse, the role of the Chenango Canal, and the influence of local agriculture including a tour of the Loomis Barn exhibits.
To celebrate a successful season, each member of the Field Trip Experience team was recently presented with a commemorative CCHS sun catcher crafted by the oldest glassworks in America, Pairpoint. Every piece was individually crafted in the glasswork’s Cape Code facility. Examples of Pairpoint Glasswork’s timeless designs can be found in museums across the country, including the decorative arts collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Members of the Field Trip Experience team include: Gail Merian (team leader), Lane Anderson, Joyce Bliss, Diane Bootie, Laura Carey (posthumous honors), Dave Moyer, Pat O’Donnell, Betty Sherrod, Rebekah Thompson, Jeanne Urie and Judie Wright. The team was supported significantly by the American Legion Auxiliary (Norwich Post 189 – Lt. Warren E. Eaton, DSC), Birchwood Archeology, and the Daughters of the American Revolution (James Madison Chapter).
The Field Trip Experience team is currently developing virtual offerings for the 2020-2021 academic year, and the group is continuously recruiting volunteers. Visit www.chenangohistorical.org/get-involved for additional details.
The primary organization dedicated to actively and comprehensively preserving the history of Chenango County, CCHS celebrates local culture – unique traditions, noteworthy residents, and unusual stories. First established in 1939, CCHS received an absolute charter in 1956. Ward School No. 2 was acquired in 1958 with renovations beginning immediately. Since reopening as a museum in 1962, Ward School No. 2 has been the home of the CCHS for more than five decades.